Home > News & Polls > 2013-14 Press Releases

WBCA honors University of Nevada’s Jane Albright with Carol Eckman Award

ATLANTA (March 17, 2014) - Jane Albright, head coach at the University of Nevada, is the winner of the 2014 Carol Eckman Award, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today.

The Carol Eckman Award is presented annually to an active WBCA member coach who exemplifies Eckman's spirit, integrity and character through sportsmanship, commitment to the student-athlete, honesty, ethical behavior, courage and dedication to purpose. The award is named in honor of the late Carol Eckman, the former West Chester State College coach, who is considered the "Mother of the Women's Collegiate Basketball Championship." Eckman organized the first women's basketball championship at West Chester in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985.

"Congratulations to longtime friend Jane Albright on being selected as the Carol Eckman Award recipient; you personify all the wonderful qualities of the late Carol Eckman," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Your commitment to women's basketball has been exceptional. You have done an astounding job in encouraging young women to have a deeper appreciation for the game and you have done it ethically in every way."

Currently wrapping up her 30th overall season as a NCAA collegiate head coach, Albright has totaled 487 wins and 412 losses. Albright has guided her teams to nine NCAA Tournaments and to five Women's National Invitational Tournaments.

During her first season as the head coach of Nevada Albright became the program's all-time winningest first-year head coach with an 18-14 record, while going 10-6 in the Western Athletic Conference. The 10 WAC wins ties the program record for league wins in a season.

Following her first year at Nevada, Albright was honored by the WBCA with the Kay Yow "Heart of a Coach" award, exemplifying her biblical principles over the course of her career. The award is presented by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, which Albright currently serves on the local Board of Directors.

In 2010-11 Albright guided the Wolf Pack to its first 20-win season in program history, finishing 22-11. Nevada also posted its first-ever post-season win in program history that season by winning in the first round of the WNIT.

Prior to taking the position at Nevada Albright coached at Wichita State and at the University of Wisconsin. Albright is the winningest coach in Badger history with a 161-107 record (.600) from 1994-2003. The Badgers made seven postseason appearances in nine seasons, including five trips to the NCAA Tournament with Albright at the helm. She also helped lead the Badgers to eight consecutive winning seasons, after they had experienced losing seasons in nine of the previous 10 seasons before Albright took over as head coach.

Albright will be formally recognized during the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel's Broadway Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Nashville.

Now in its 28th year, the Carol Eckman Award has recognized the following individuals in women's basketball: Jan Ross, University of Oklahoma (2013), Sue Ramsey, Ashland University (2012), Joanne Boyle, University of California (2011); Kevin Cook, Gallaudet University (2010); Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame University (2009); Doug Bruno, DePaul University (2008); Theresa Grentz, University of Illinois (2007); Gail Goestenkors, Duke University (2006); Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas (2005); Deirdre Kane, West Chester University (2004); Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University (2003); Barbara Stevens, Bentley College (2002); Juliene Simpson, East Stroudsburg University (2001); Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University (2000); Susan Summons, Miami-Dade (Fla.) Community College (1999); Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi (1998); Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri (1996); Ceal Barry, University of Colorado (1995); the late Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University (1994); C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa (1993); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (1992); Marian Washington, University of Kansas (1991); Maryalyce Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton (1990); Linda Hill-MacDonald, University of Minnesota (1989); the late Kay Yow, North Carolina State University (1988); Jody Conradt, University of Texas (1987), and Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College (1986).

About the WBCA

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.