Home > AwardsPlayer Awards > Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award recognizes the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I senior women's basketball player who stands 5 feet, 8 inches or under. The award is presented annually during the WBCA Awards Show which is a part of the WBCA National Convention.


Any senior player at an NCAA Division I institution who is 5 feet, 8 inches tall or under.


 Plays for an NCAA Division I institution
 Is a senior (final year of eligibility)
 5 feet, 8 inches or under
 Game-by-game statistics from senior year of play
 One letter of recommendation (includes campus and community activities, academic and athletic honors, leadership and character qualities and justification for earning award)
 Excellence in the classroom and all-around basketball ability


All NCAA Division I head coaches who are WBCA members may nominate any player on their team who fits the above criteria. Nominations must be submitted online.


The recipient is selected from the nominees by the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award Selection Committee using the criteria above.

Past Recipients

2014 - Odyssey Sims, Baylor University
2013 - Alex Bentley, Penn State University
2012 - Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan University
2011 - Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga University
2010 - Alexis Gray-Lawson, University of California, Berkeley
2009 - Renee Montgomery, University of Connecticut
2008 - Jolene Anderson, University of Wisconsin
2007 - Lindsey Harding, Duke University
2006 - Megan Duffy, University of Notre Dame
2005 - Tan White, Mississippi State University
2004 - Erika Valek, Purdue University
2003 - Kara Lawson, University of Tennessee
2002 - Sheila Lambert, Baylor University
2001 - Niele Ivey, University of Notre Dame
2000 - Helen Darling, Penn State University
1999 - Becky Hammond, Colorado State University
1998 - Angie Arnold, Johns Hopkins University
1997 - Jennifer Howard, North Carolina State University
1996 - Jennifer Rizzotti, University of Connecticut
1995 - Amy Dodrill, Johns Hopkins University
1994 - Nicole Levesque, Wake Forest University
1993 - Dena Evans, University of Virginia
1992 - Rosemary Kosiorek, West Virginia University
1991 - Shanya Evans, Providence College
1990 - Julie Dabrowski, University of New Hampshire
1989 - Paulette Backstrom, Bowling Green State University
1988 - Suzie McConnell, Penn State University
1987 - Rhonda Windham, University of Southern California
1986 - Kamie Etheridge, University of Texas
1985 - Maria Stack, Gonzaga University
1984 - Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech University


 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award Selection Committee