Home > Awards > Discontinued Awards > Graduate Assistant of the Year

WBCA Graduate Assistant of the Year

The Women's Sports Foundation/WBCA Graduate Assistant of the Year Award, as selected by the Women's Sports Foundation, was awarded annually to a female graduate assistant coach in recognition of her contribution to a collegiate women's basketball program and her committment to becoming a coach of women's basketball. The Women's Sports Foundation donated $1,000 to the women's basketball program in which she worked in her honor. The WBCA Board of Directors voted to discontinue the award following the 2008-09 season.


2009 - Clarisse Garcia, Seton Hill University
2008 - Branden Lippy, Millersville University of Pennsylvania
2007 - Kim Edmondson, University of Arkansas, Monticello
2006 - Dana Ferguson, DePauw University
2005 - Allison Wooley, Trinity University (Texas)
2004 - Jeanette Wedo, East Stroudsburg University
2003 - Susan Blauser, Clarion University
2002 - Stacy Frese-Huber, University of Evansville
2001 - Angie Kristenson, Northwestern Missouri State University
2000 - Jennifer Zinn, Trinity (Texas) University
1999 - Linda Riedman, University of Portland
1998 - Darrah Metz, Marshall University
1997 - Shelly A. Respecki, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
1996 - Penny Michelle Roberson, Appalachian State University
1995 - Nichie Bendt, Bemidji State University
1994 - Krissi Davis, DePaul University
1993 - Missy Sallade, Virginia Commonwealth
1992 - Marla Uhler, Humboldt State University
1991 - Heather Podosek, Texas Woman's University


Click below to nominate/vote in the WBCA Awards Program. Login is required.

Inside This Section

'Awards' Home
Coach Awards
 Player Awards
 Team Awards
 Contributor/Special Awards
 Discontinued Awards
  Graduate Assistant of the Year
Scholarship Awards
Players of the Month
    • Robin Roberts/WBCA Broadcasting Scholarship
    Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

Additional Information

Awards Calendar (PDF)
Awards Committees
Awards Regions (PDF)