ATLANTA (May 23, 2013) - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today those individuals who have been elected or appointed to positions on the organization's board of directors for the 2013-14 academic year.

Florida State head coach Sue Semrau succeeds Arizona State head coach Charli Turner Thorne as president of the association. Semrau has served the last two years as vice president/president-elect. Turner Thorne remains on the board of directors as past president, replacing Connecticut head coach Geno Auriemma whose term of service on the board ends.

Penn State head coach Coquese Washington has been elected by the membership as the new vice president/president-elect for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 academic years. Washington, who has served as treasurer for the past two years, will automatically succeed Semrau as president in the 2015-16 academic year. Kansas State head coach Deb Patterson has been elected to replace Washington as treasurer.

Meanwhile, Semrau has appointed Kentucky head coach and current NCAA Division I Mideast representative Matthew Mitchell to serve the remaining two years of Beth Burns' term as association secretary. Burns recently resigned her position on the board after retiring as head coach at San Diego State.

"We are excited to have Sue Semrau assume the WBCA presidency after having served the last two years as our vice president," WBCA CEO Beth Bass said. "To be chosen by her peers as the leader of their professional organization speaks volumes about Sue's reputation and the respect her fellow coaches have for her. Like Charli, who she succeeds, Sue is a natural leader and we look forward to being led by her.

"Sue, Coquese, Deb, Matthew and Charli, along with Committee on Women's Basketball Issues chair Connie Hurlbut, form a strong executive committee to lend guidance to our association and board of directors. The WBCA is definitely in good hands."

In other board of directors election results:

  • Toledo head coach Tricia Cullop and LSU head coach Nikki Caldwell were elected to NCAA Division I at-large positions.

  • Lenoir-Rhyne head coach Todd Starkey was elected to the NCAA Division II Group I position.

Semrau also filled the following positions on the board of directors by appointment:

  • Duke head coach Joanne P. McCallie was appointed to serve the remaining term of former North Carolina State head coach Kellie Harper as NCAA Division I East representative. Harper, now the head coach at Missouri State, is no longer located in the East region.

  • Memphis head coach Melissa McFerrin was appointed to serve the remainder of Mitchell's term as NCAA Division I Mideast representative.

The following vacant positions on the board of directors were filled by appointment in advance of the board's April meeting in New Orleans:

  • Kent State head coach Danielle O'Banion was appointed to replace Notre Dame assistant coach Carol Owens as the Black Coaches Administrators (BCA) association representative.

  • Georgia Highlands College head coach Brandan Harrell was appointed to replace Seward Community College head coach Toby Wynn as the junior/community college representative.

The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.

Here is the complete roster for the 2013-14 WBCA Board of Directors:

Executive Committee
Sue Semrau, Head Coach, Florida State University, President
Coquese Washington, Head Coach, Penn State University, Vice President/President-Elect
Matthew Mitchell, Head Coach, University of Kentucky, Secretary
Deb Patterson, Head Coach, Kansas State University, Treasurer
Connie Hurlbut, Senior Associate Commissioner, Western Athletic Conference, WBCA Committee on Basketball Issues Chair
Charli Turner Thorne, Head Coach, Arizona State University, Past President

Board of Directors

Anucha Browne, NCAA Vice President for Women's Basketball
Amanda Butler, Head Coach, University of Florida, Division I At-Large
Nikki Caldwell, Head Coach, Louisiana State University, Division I At-Large
Claudette Charney, Head Coach, Hillsdale College, Division II Legislative
Tricia Cullop, Head Coach, University of Toledo, Division I At-Large
Diane Dickman, Managing Director, NCAA Academic & Membership Affairs
Carmen Dolfo, Head Coach, Western Washington University, Division II Group II
Rich Ensor, Commissioner, Metro Atlantic Conference, Conference Commissioners
Kelly Graves, Head Coach, Gonzaga University, Division I West
Brandan Harrell, Head Coach, Georgia Highlands College, Junior/Community Colleges
Aaron Johnston, South Dakota State University, Division I Midwest
Mary Klinger, Head Coach, Rutgers Preparatory School, High School
Patricia Manning, Head Coach, Williams College, Division III At-Large
Joanne P. McCallie, Head Coach, Duke University, Division I East
Melissa McFerrin, Head Coach, University of Memphis, Division I Mideast
Lisa Mispley Fortier, Assistant Coach, Gonzaga University, Assistant Coaches
Kirsten Moore, Head Coach, Westmont College, NAIA
Danielle O'Banion, Head Coach, Kent State University, BCA
Martha Putallaz, Duke University, Faculty Athletic Representatives
Jennifer Rizzotti, Head Coach, University of Hartford, Division I Legislative
Vic Schaefer, Head Coach, Mississippi State University, Male Coaches
Mary Beth Spirk, Head Coach, Moravian College, Division III At-Large
Dawn Staley, Head Coach, University of South Carolina, Division I At-Large
Todd Starkey, Head Coach, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Division II Group I
Christy Thomaskutty, Head Coach, Emory University, Division III Legislative

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.