ATLANTA (Feb. 4, 2013) - The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee has added eight additional student-athletes to the 2012-13 State Farm "Wade Watch" list, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, announced today.

Joining the preseason list of 25 "Wade Watch" hopefuls are Kelsey Bone of Texas A&M, Gennifer Brandon and Layshia Clarendon of California, Kelly Faris of Connecticut, Tianna Hawkins of Maryland, Chelsea Hopkins of San Diego State, Niveen Rasheed of Princeton and Meighan Simmons of Tennessee.

State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition present The State Farm Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player each year - one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The State Farm Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The State Farm Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the State Farm Wade Trophy winner during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in New Orleans.

Here is the complete 2012-13 State Farm Wade Watch list:

  Name Institution Position Year
  Alex Bentley Penn State Guard Senior
  Kelsey Bone Texas A&M Center Junior
  Gennifer Brandon California Forward Junior
  Heather Butler UT Martin Guard Junior
  Layshia Clarendon California Guard Senior
  Carolyn Davis Kansas Forward Senior
  Elena Delle Donne Delaware Forward Senior
  Skyler Diggins Notre Dame Guard Senior
  Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Junior
  Kelly Faris Connecticut Guard Senior
  Christina Foggie Vanderbilt
Guard Junior
  Chassidy Fussell Texas Guard Junior
  Angel Goodrich Kansas Guard Senior
  Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Junior
  Brittney Griner Baylor Guard Senior
  Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Junior
  Tianna Hawkins Maryland Forward Senior
  Tayler Hill Ohio State Guard Senior
  Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Junior
  Chelsea Hopkins San Diego State Guard Senior
  Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard  Junior
  Anna Martin DePaul Guard Senior
  A’dia Mathies Kentucky Guard Senior
  Lindsey Moore Nebraska Guard Senior
  Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Sophomore
  Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Forward Junior
  Niveen Rasheed Princeton Guard Senior
  Sugar Rodgers Georgetown Guard Senior
  Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Junior
  Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Junior
  Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Junior
  Alyssa Thomas Maryland Guard Junior
  Elizabeth Williams Duke Center Sophomore

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past 10 years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.

About State Farm®:

State Farm and its affiliates are the largest provider of car insurance in the U.S. and is a leading insurer in Canada. In addition to providing auto insurance quotes, their 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts - more than 79 million auto, home, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is also available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 43 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit http://www.statefarm.com or in Canada http://www.statefarm.ca.

About the NAGWS:

The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) was established to develop and deliver equitable and quality sport opportunities for ALL girls and women through relevant research, advocacy, leadership development, educational strategies, and programming in a manner that promotes social justice and change.

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.





I just want to say how thankful I am for WBCA. I retired from women's basketball coaching in 1939. I attended 4 WBCA clinics in the last 4 years of coaching. I learned more from these clinics than I did from the clinics held by the SC Coaches Associatiion in 10 years prior to my first clinic in Atlanta. I attended a clinic in Raleigh and 2 in Knoxville. My teams were much better fundalmentally than ever before. We won our conference 4 years in a row and lost twice in the final 4 to eventual state winners. The coaches at the clinics shared information relating to the women's game.

posted on: Saturday, Feb 16, 2013 8:22 PM
posted by: Ed Brown