ATLANTA (March 23, 2012) - The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player.

"I look forward to the naming of these finalists each year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "These 12 finalists are the game's most elite players and exciting to watch. One of these talented student-athletes will be chosen to receive the sport's most prestigious award - the Wade Trophy."

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members composed of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team.  The winner will be announced on during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, in Denver.  The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®. 

  Player Name Institution Year Position
  Elena Delle Donne University of Delaware Jr. F
  Skylar Diggins University of Notre Dame Jr. G
  Brittney Griner Baylor University Jr. C
  Shenise Johnson University of Miami Sr. G
  Anna Martin DePaul University Jr. G
  A'dia Mathies University of Kentucky Jr. G
  Chiney Ogwumike Stanford University So. F
  Nneka Ogwumike Stanford University Sr. F
  Samantha Prahalis Ohio State University Sr. G
  Odyssey Sims Baylor University So. G
  Alyssa Thomas University of Maryland So. F
  Julie Wojta University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Sr. G

"State Farm is extremely proud to recognize and congratulate these 12 outstanding athletes as finalists for The 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy," said Pam El, marketing vice president for State Farm.  "Their dedication and commitment epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and they are all very deserving of this great honor."

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 35th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade.  This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. 

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Connecticut's Maya Moore, who was the first student-athlete to win the award three consecutive years (2009, 2010, 2011.) The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).

About State Farm®:
State Farm and its affiliates are the largest provider of car insurance in the U.S. and is a leading insurer in Canada. In addition to providing auto insurance quotes, their 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts - more than 79 million auto, home, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is also available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 37 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit http://www.statefarm.com/ or in Canada http://www.statefarm.ca/.

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. The WBCA is pleased to join the women's sports community in commemorating the 40th anniversary of Title IX, which was passed by Congress on June 23, 1972, and provides females with equal opportunities in athletics in the U.S. For more information on the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.