ATLANTA (Feb. 29, 2012) –
Florida's all-time winningest high school basketball coach, Marcia Pinder of Dillard High School (Fort Lauderdale), is the 2012 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National High School Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Pinder recorded her 800th career victory on Feb. 9 and currently leads all Florida high school girls' and boys' basketball coaches with an 804-175 win-loss record. She won her third consecutive -- and seventh overall -- state championship as coach of the Panthers this past Saturday.

"I am glad to present Marcia Pinder with the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National High School Coach of the Year award," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "At the WBCA, we are always striving to better the future of women's basketball, so we're delighted Marcia has committed herself professionally to the future of the game as well."

Pinder was selected for the national honor from among nine WBCA-member high school coaches who were chosen as district coaches of the year by vote of their respective peers in the association's nine geographic districts.

"RUSSELL ATHLETIC has long been the industry standard in terms of innovation and development of women's apparel and uniform, while recently shifting our brand message to focus on the Power of Team," said Gary Barfield, Executive Vice President of RUSSELL ATHLETIC. "We are pleased to honor Coach Pinder for setting the women's basketball coaching industry standard high, with over three decades of service to her student-athletes. Without her teaching the importance of teamwork, the milestones would be unreachable."

Joining Pinder, the District 9 honoree, as recipients of 2012 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA District Coach of the Year awards are Rick Clark, York High School, York, Maine (District 1); Ray Preston, Charlotte Valley High School, Davenport, N.Y. (District 2); Diane Richardson, Riverdale Baptist School, Upper Marlboro, Md. (District 3); Paul Barlow, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights, Ohio (District 4); Terry English, Bishop Miege High School, Shawnee Mission, Kan. (District 5); Suzanne Oelschlegel, Irving MacArthur High School, Irving, Texas (District 6); Ron Rossi, Holy Family High School, Broomfield, Colo. (District 7); and Steve Smith, Windward High School, Los Angeles, Calif. (District 8).

The four leading vote getters in the national coach of the year balloting are invited to coach in the WBCA High School All-America Game presented by NIKE, which showcases the nation's 20 best senior players. The game, which will be played at 4:30 p.m. MT Saturday, March 31, in the Pepsi Center in Denver, is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®. Admission to the game is free.

Pinder, along with State Farm®/WBCA High School Player of the Year Breanna Stewart of Cicero (N.Y.)-North Syracuse High School, will be formally recognized during the game.

Pinder will coach the White team and will be assisted by Richardson. Oelschlegel will serve as head coach of the Navy team and will be assisted by Preston.

In related news, the WBCA also announced the team rosters for this year's WBCA High School All-America Game presented by NIKE. Rosters for the game are not geographic, but are balanced according to talent and skill of the WBCA High School All-Americans to better ensure a competitive game.


  No Name Pos Ht High School College
  2 Alexis Jones PG 5-8 Irving MacArthur (Texas) Duke
  3 Nicole Kornet G 5-11 Liberty Christian (Lantana, Texas) Oklahoma
  4 Xylina McDaniel F 6-2 Spring Valley (Blythewood, S.C.) North Carolina
  5 Malina Howard P 6-3 Twinsburg (Ohio) Maryland
  11 Courtney Williams W 6-1 North Shore (Houston, Texas) Texas A&M
  13 Jordan Jones PG 5-6 DeSoto (Texas) Texas A&M
  21 Alexis Prince W 6-2 Edgewater (Maitland, Fla.) Baylor
  22 Tierney Pfirman F 6-2 South Williamsport (Pa.) Maryland
  32 Imani Stafford P 6-7 Windward (Los Angeles) Texas
  42 Nirra Fields G 5-9 Mater Dei (South Euclid, Ohio) UCLA


  No Name Pos Ht High School College
  1 Jordan Adams G 6-1 Mater Dei (Irvin, Calif.) USC
  10 Jonquel Jones F 6-2 Riverdale Baptist (Ellicott City, Md.) Clemson
  12 Jasmine Jones F 6-1 Bob Jones (Madison, Ala.) Undeclared
  14 Bashaara Graves F 6-2 Clarksville (Tenn.) Tennessee
  23 Kahleah Copper G 6-1 Prep Charter (Philadelphia, Pa.) Rutgers
  24 Jewell Loyd G 5-9 Niles West (Lincolnwood, Ill.) Notre Dame
  25 Michaela Mabrey G 5-9 Manasquan (Holmdel, N.J.) Notre Dame
  30 Breanna Stewart F 6-3 Cicero-North Syracuse (N.Y.) Connecticut
  32 Moriah Jefferson PG 5-7 Home School (Glenn Heights, Texas) Connecticut
  44 Morgan Tuck F 6-2 Bolingbrook (Ill.) Connecticut

The honorary co-captain of this year's White Team will be Briann January of the WNBA's Indiana Fever. Sophia Young of the WNBA's San Antonia Silver Stars will be the honorary co-captain of the Navy Team.

For more than 100 years, RUSSELL ATHLETIC, a division of Russell Brands, LLC, has supplied America's athletes and teams with the latest innovations to help them perform at their best and is a leading supplier of team uniforms at the high school, college and professional levels. RUSSELL ATHLETIC'S activewear and collegiate licensed products are broadly distributed and marketed through department stores, sports specialty stores, retail chains and college bookstores. For more information, please visit www.RussellAthletic.com. RUSSELL ATHLETIC® is a trademark of Russell Brands, LLC.

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. The WBCA is pleased to join the women's sports community in commemorating the 40th anniversary of Title IX, which was passed by Congress on June 23, 1972, and provides females with equal opportunities in athletics in the U.S. For more information on the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.