ATLANTA (August 23, 2011) - Connecticut and Notre Dame both have three players on the 2011-12 preseason "Wade Watch" list for the State Farm® Wade Trophy the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today.

Now in its 35th year, the State Farm Wade Trophy is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. The prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," is presented annually to the NCAA® Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.

The 25-member preseason list is composed of top NCAA Division I student-athletes from 17 institutions and seven conferences who best embody Wade's spirit. A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Representing Connecticut on the 2011-12 "Wade Watch" list are Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Tiffany Hayes. Notre Dame is represented by Skylar Diggins, Natalie Novosel and Devereaux Peters.

Placing two players on the list are Baylor (Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims), Miami (Shenise Johnson and Riquna Williams), Stanford (sisters Chiney Ogwumike and Nneka Ogwumike) and Tennessee (Glory Johnson and Shekinna Stricklen).

Hayes, Nneka Ogumike and Stricklen appear on the "Wade Watch" list for the third straight year. Delaware's Elena Della Donne, DePaul's Keisha Hampton and Georgetown's Sugar Rodgers join Diggins, Griner, Shenise Johnson and Williams are on the list for the second straight year.

The BIG EAST Conference dominates the list with nine players, followed by the Big 12 Conference with four, the Atlantic Coast, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences with three each, the Big Ten Conference with two, and the Colonial Athletic Association with one.

Here is the complete list of preseason candidates for the 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy in alphabetical order:

  Player Institution Position Year
  LaSondra Barrett Louisiana State  Forward Senior
  Alex Bentley Penn State  Guard Junior
  Cierra Bravard Florida State  Forward Senior
  Carolyn Davis Kansas Forward Junior
  Elena Delle Donne Delaware Forward Junior
  Skylar Diggins Notre Dame Guard Junior
  Jasmine Dixon UCLA Forward Senior
  Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Sophomore
  Brittney Griner Baylor  Post Junior
  Keisha Hampton DePaul  Forward Senior
  Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Sophomore
  Tiffany Hayes Connecticut Guard Senior
  Glory Johnson Tennessee Forward Senior
  Shenise Johnson Miami Guard Senior
  Natalie Novosel Notre Dame Guard Senior
  Chiney Ogwumike Stanford  Forward Sophomore
  Nneka Ogwumike Stanford  Forward Senior
  Devereaux Peters Notre Dame Forward Senior
  Jaime Printy Iowa Guard Junior
  Monique Reid Louisville Forward Senior
  Sugar Rodgers Georgetown  Guard Junior
  Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Sophomore
  Shekinna Stricklen Tennessee Guard Senior
  Tyra White Texas A&M Guard Senior
  Riquna Williams Miami Guard Senior

The 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the 2012 NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Denver.

About State Farm®:

State Farm insures more cars and homes than any other insurer in the U.S., is the leading insurer of watercraft and is also a leading insurer in Canada. Our 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts - more than 78 million auto, fire, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 37 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit statefarm.com® or in Canada statefarm.ca®.

About the NAGWS:

The National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) was established to develop and deliver equitable and quality sport opportunities for ALL girls and women through relevant research, advocacy, leadership development, educational strategies, and programming in a manner that promotes social justice and change.

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For additional information about the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.