ATLANTA, Ga. (February 13, 2009) -– The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today the nation’s top 20 girls’ basketball players selected to participate in the 18th annual WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike.

The players who have been chosen will be divided into two teams of 10 players. The college-style regulation game is scheduled to tip off at 4:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, April 4, at Washington University’s Athletic Complex in St. Louis, Mo. This highly-anticipated event is part of the WBCA National Convention, which takes place at the site of the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®. 

“The 20 members of this year’s High School All-America Team are a great representation of the future of the college game and beyond,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “I always look forward to watching this group in action and the committee has done a terrific job once again in selecting these talented young women.  The 18th WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike will be one to watch and the WBCA is proud to play host for another year.”

Below is the list of players selected to participate in the 2009 WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike:

  Name High School State Signed
  Kelsey Bone Dulles High School Stafford, Texas Undeclared
  Mariah Chandler SW Atlanta Christian Academy Douglasville, Ga. Baylor
  Layshia Clarendon Cajon High School San Bernardino, Calif. California
  Skylar Diggins Washington High School South Bend, Ind. Notre Dame
  Nikki Greene Diboll High School Diboll, Texas Penn St.
  Brittney Griner Chester W. Nimitz High School Houston, Texas Baylor
  Krista Gross Cannon School Charlotte, N.C. North Carolina
  Jasmine Hassell Wilson Central High School Lebanon, Tenn. Georgia
  Tayler Hill South High School Minneapolis, Minn. Undeclared
  Stephanie Holzer Cardinal O'Hara High School Newtown Square, Pa. Vanderbilt
  Monique Oliver Long Beach Polytechnic H.S Long Beach, Calif. Southern California
  Sam Ostarello Stanley County High School Fort Pierre, S.D. Purdue
  Cokie Reed Midway High School Hewitt, Texas Texas
  Waltia Rolle Westbury Christian School Fresno, Texas North Carolina
  Tierra Ruffin-Pratt T.C Williams High School Alexandria, Va. North Carolina
  Taber Spani Metro Academy Lee's Summit, Mo. Tennessee
  DeNesha Stallworth Pinole Valley High School Richmond, Calif. California
  Joslyn Tinkle Big Sky High School Missoula, Mont. Stanford
  Markel Walker Schenley High School Pittsburgh, Pa. UCLA
  Destiny Williams Benton Harbor High School Benton Harbor, Mich. Illinois

“Congratulations to this year’s 20 WBCA All-America game participants,” said Gary Glasscock, Chairman of the High School All- American Team Selection Committee. “The All-Americans were selected through the conscientious efforts of nine District representatives.  These nine District reps worked diligently in the past year to make sure that all corners of the country were canvassed to get the cream of the crop.  Congratulations to the WBCA Selection Committee on a job well done.  Good luck to the All-Americans in St. Louis.”

A committee of WBCA-member high school coaches who represent nine geographical districts from across the nation selected the All-America squad.  The 2009 WBCA High School All-America Game Selection Committee is comprised of: Gary Glasscock (Chair – St. Louis Metro Academic and Classical High School), Stacy Bilodeau (District 1 – Walpole High School), Bob Mackey (District 2 – Christ the King High School), Brian Robinson (District 3 – Bishop McGuinness High School), Pat Diulus (District 4 –Regina High School), Kelly Flynn (District 5 – South Sioux City High School), Teri Morrison (District 6 – Midway High School), Gail Hook (District 7 – Monarch High School), James Anderson (District 8 – Narbonne High School), Robert Mosley (District 9 – Ramsay High School), Brad Smith (Past Chair – Oregon City High School) and Daniella Trujillo (WBCA Staff Liaison).  

This marks the 18th year that the WBCA has sanctioned a girls’ high school all-America team.  The inaugural WBCA’s High School All-America Game was held April 17, 1992 at Oman Arena in Jackson, Tenn.  The second and third annual games were also played at Oman Arena.  The 1995 game, which marked the beginning of Nike's title sponsorship, was played in Altoona, Penn.  The event moved east to Philadelphia in 1996 and south to Nashville in 1997. The game was then held in Hartford, Conn. from 1998 until 2002.  The game made its debut as part of the “WBCA Night of All-Stars” in 2003 and now stands on its own at the site of the WBCA National Convention each year.

“Nike is honored to partner up with the WBCA on such a prestigious event,” said Mary Thompson, Nike’s Girl High School and Elite Youth Basketball Manager. “The WBCA All- America Game gives the best players in the country the opportunity to showcase their talents in a competitive atmosphere at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in St Louis.  We recognize the importance of women in sports.  These 20 selected All-Americans are the future of women's basketball.”

The 2009 class of WBCA High School All-Americans joins the list of well-known past participants such as: Tamika Catchings, Chamique Holdsclaw, Katie Smith, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Alana Beard and Maya Moore.

The following 20 players have received Honorable Mention for the 2009 WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike:

  Name High School Hometown Signed
  Gennifer Brandon Chatsworth High School Chatsworth, Calif. California
  Jackie Cook Regina High School Hinkley, Ohio Old Dominion
  China Crosby The Center School-Manhattan New York, N.Y. Virginia
  Faith Dupree Webb School Knoxville, Tenn. Tennessee
  Kelly Faris Heritage Christian School Indianapolis, Ind. Connecticut
  Lauren Flores North Shore High School Houston, Texas Texas
  Lexie Gerson Peddie School Hightstown, Pa. Virginia
  Bianca Lutley Pensacola High School Pensacola, Fla. Louisiana State
  Joanna McFarland Derby High School Derby, Kan. Oklahoma
  Karisma Penn Shaker Heights High School Shaker Heights, Ohio Illinois
  Eliza Pierre John Muir High School Pasadena, Calif. California
  Adrianna Prins Broomfield High School Broomfield, Colo. Iowa State
  Mikaela Ruef Beavercreek High School Beavercreek, Ohio Stanford
  Tierra Rogers Sacred Heart Cathedral Prep San Francisco, Calif. California
  Monique Smalls College Park High School The Woodlands, Texas Texas Tech
  Erinn Thompson Bishop McGuinness H.S Winston-Salem, N.C. Virginia
  Morgan Toles St. Pius X Catholic High School Atlanta, Ga. Auburn
  Erica Wheeler Parkway Academy Miramar, Fla. Rutgers
  Kamiko Williams Northeast High School Clarksville, Tenn. Tennessee
  Mariah Williams Regis Jesuit High School Aurora, Colo. UCLA

Reserved seats are available for $15 and can be purchased by calling 813-287-8844 or by visiting wbca.org or www.ticketweb.com

About Nike

NIKE, Inc. based near Beaverton, Oregon, is the world's leading designer, marketer and distributor of authentic athletic footwear, apparel, equipment and accessories for a wide variety of sports and fitness activities. Wholly owned Nike subsidiaries include Converse Inc., which designs, markets and distributes athletic footwear, apparel and accessories; Cole Haan, which designs, markets and distributes luxury shoes, handbags, accessories and coats; Umbro Ltd., a leading United Kingdom-based global football (soccer) brand; and Hurley International LLC, which designs, markets and distributes action sports and youth lifestyle footwear, apparel and accessories. For more information, visit www.nikebiz.com.