The Wade Trophy

    The Wade Trophy represents the best of women's collegiate basketball. It is awarded annually to the greatest female basketball player in the country who not only excels athletically, but serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion, Delta State University coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

    All academically eligible women's basketball athletes in NCAA Division I (sophomore, junior or senior) who are members of the Division I WBCA Coaches' All-America Team qualify as candidates to receive The Wade Trophy. Freshmen are not eligible for The Wade Trophy Player of the Year honor.

    Criteria (In Priority Order)
    1. NCAA Division I basketball player (sophomore, junior or senior) who is a member of the Division I WBCA Coaches' All-America Team.

    2. A player who embodies the "Spirit of Margaret Wade."
    • Excellence on the court (as defined above).
    • Academically eligible to compete as defined by the NCAA and the institution.
    • Adheres to the principles of sportsmanship and ethical conduct as outlined in NCAA Constitution 2.4.

    There is not a formal nomination process for this award. The Wade Trophy Committee compiles a list of "Wade Watch" candidates based on criteria above at the beginning of the basketball season.

    Selection is based on team statistics, improvement from year-to-year and contribution to the team and the community. The winner is selected from the 10-member Division I WBCA Coaches' All-America Team. The Wade Trophy Committee selects the winner for this award.

    View Committee

    The Wade Trophy winner will be recognized during the WBCA National Convention.

    Past Wade Trophy Recipients:
    2013 - Brittney Griner, Baylor
    2012 - Brittney Griner, Baylor
    2011 - Maya Moore, Connecticut
    2010 - Maya Moore, Connecticut
    2009 - Maya Moore, Connecticut
    2008 - Candice Wiggins, Stanford
    2007 - Candace Parker, Tennessee
    2006 - Seimone Augustus, LSU
    2005 - Seimone Augustus, LSU
    2004 - Alana Beard, Duke
    2003 - Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
    2002 - Sue Bird, Connecticut
    2001 - Jackie Stiles, Southwest Missouri State
    2000 - Edwina Brown, Texas
    1999 - Stephanie White-McCarty, Purdue
    1998 - Ticha Penicheiro, Old Dominion
    1997 - DeLisha Milton, Florida
    1996 - Jennifer Rizzotti, Connecticut
    1995 - Rebecca Lobo, Connecticut
    1994 - Carol Ann Shudlick, Minnesota
    1993 - Karen Jennings, Nebraska
    1992 - Susan Robinson, Penn State
    1991 - Daedra Charles, Tennessee
    1990 - Jennifer Azzi, Stanford
    1989 - Clarissa Davis, Texas
    1988 - Teresa Weatherspoon, Louisiana Tech
    1987 - Shelly Pennefeather, Villanova
    1986 - Kamie Ethridge, Texas
    1985 - Cheryl Miller, USC
    1984 - Janice Lawrence, Louisiana Tech
    1983 - LaTaunya Pollard, Long Beach State
    1982 - Pam Kelly, Louisiana Tech
    1981 - Lynette Woodard, Kansas
    1980 - Nancy Lieberman, Old Dominion
    1979 - Nancy Lieberman, Old Dominion
    1978 - Carol Blazejowski, Montclair State

    Questions? Contact Us. 

    Quick Links
    WBCA Convention


    2014 WBCA Convention Logo - Nashville

    Held during the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, the WBCA National Convention is the perfect mixture of professional development, networking opportunities and a celebration of our sport. Click here for information on the 2014 convention, which will be held April 4-8 in Nashville.



    Our goal is for this site to be the information hub of women's basketball legislation. We will provide members with information directly on our website as well as navigating you to other sites with information you need to know.

    National Polls/Rankings


    Other Polls/Rankings

    Job Postings