Spalding Maggie Dixon Rookie Coach of the Year

The Spalding Maggie Dixon Division I Rookie Coach of the Year award is in honor of the late Maggie Dixon, former Army head coach, whose success during her inaugural year at the Army helm was remarkable. The Black Knights won the Patriot League title in 2006 and Dixon was named the Patriot League Coach of the Year after leading Army to the NCAA Tournament for the first time at the NCAA Division I level. Coach Dixon passed away on April 6, 2006, just a few weeks following their appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The spirit of Maggie Dixon will live through this award and its recipients who, by their selection, have demonstrated both the on-court successes as well as the enrichment to the lives of those around them.

Any WBCA member NCAA Division I head coach who is in their rookie season is eligible for this award.

A rookie coach is defined as a first year head coach in NCAA Division I women's basketball. A head coach whose institution has moved into Division I will not qualify for this award if it is not their first year as a head coach at that institution. Any head coach/assistant coach who has coached at the professional and then returns to the collegiate level will NOT be eligible for this award.

Criteria (In Priority Order)
• Must be a current Division I head coach in his/her rookie season
• Qualification/Advancement in NCAA Tournament or NIT
• Qualification/Advancement in conference tournament
• Success in conference during the regular season
• Team success during the regular season
• Team improvement from previous season
• Regular season conference record
• Awards/honors

Any rookie coach who fits the above criteria is eligible for this award. This award does not have a formal nomination process. All Conference SIDs are contacted to submit to the WBCA names, awards and other pertinent news of all rookie coaches within their respective conference.

Each committee member will review the compiled information from the WBCA prior to the selection conference call in March. The committee will discuss the candidates and select the Spalding Maggie Dixon Division I Rookie Coach of the Year.

View Committee

The Spalding Maggie Dixon Division I Rookie Coach of the Year will be recognized annually during the WBCA National Convention.

Past Spalding Maggie Dixon Division I Rookie Coach of the Year Recipients:
2013 - Holly Warlick, University of Tennessee
2012 - Jennifer Hoover, High Point University
2011 - Stephanie Glance, Illinois State University
2010 - Teresa Weatherspoon, Louisiana Tech University
2009 - Kelly Packard, Ball State University
2008 - Jeff Walz, University of Lousiville
2007 - Krista Kilburn-Steveskey, Hofstra University



Questions? Contact Us. 

Quick Links
WBCA Convention


2014 WBCA Convention Logo - Nashville

Held during the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, the WBCA National Convention is the perfect mixture of professional development, networking opportunities and a celebration of our sport. Click here for information on the 2014 convention, which will be held April 4-8 in Nashville.



Our goal is for this site to be the information hub of women's basketball legislation. We will provide members with information directly on our website as well as navigating you to other sites with information you need to know.

National Polls/Rankings


Other Polls/Rankings

Job Postings