Kelly Kline/WBCA

Mel Greenberg Media Award

The Mel Greenberg Media Award was established in 1991 to recognize a member of the media who has best displayed a commitment to women's basketball and to advancing the role of the media in promoting the women's game.

All writers, commentators, reporters, radio announcers, sports information personnel, promotions/marketing personnel and photographers are eligible for this award.

• Work must have had a positive impact on the growth and national/regional exposure of the sport of women's basketball
• Must have been involved in the media exposure of the sport of women's basketball for a minimum of five years
• Should be a media ambassador for the women's game
• Short essay stating why the nominee is deserving of the award

All collegiate WBCA member head coaches are eligible to nominate any individual who fits the above criteria. Nomination forms are made available online. The Mel Greenberg Award Committee members can also submit names of individuals they feel are worthy of being nominated for this award. Each person that nominates an individual will complete a short essay stating why the nominee is deserving of the award.

The selection committee (former Mel Greenberg Media Award recipients) will be given access to view all nomination forms online and then as a committee they will cast their vote for the winner. All Mel Greenberg Media Award nominees, who are not selected as the award recipient, will automatically remain as nominees for five years.

View Committee

The Mel Greenberg Media Award recipient is recognized annually by Mel Greenberg at the WBCA Awards Luncheon at the WBCA National Convention.

Past Mel Greenberg Media Award Recipients:
2013 - Vicki Friedman, Freelance Writer 
2012 - Mike Carmin, Lafayette Journal and Courier
2011 - Carol Stiff, ESPN
2010 - Dick Patrick, USA TODAY
2009 - Chuck Schoffner, Associated Press
2008 - Dan Fleser, Knoxville News-Sentinel
2007 - Debbie Antonelli, Women's Basketball Analyst
2006 - Bill Jauss, Chicago Tribune
2005 - Dave Loane, University of Illinois
2004 - Tamara Flarup, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2003 - Mechelle Voepel, Kansas City Star,
2002 - Bob Kenny, Courier Post (Retired)
2001 - Robin Roberts
2000 - Vic Dorr, Richmond Times-Dispatch
1999 - Ann Meyers-Drysdale
1998 - Mary Garber, Winston-Salem Journal
1997 - Mitch Parkinson (deceased), Southern Illinois University
1996 - Debby Jennings, University of Tennessee
1995 - Mike Augustin (deceased), St. Paul Pioneer Press
1994 - Mimi Griffin, ESPN Sports Analyst
1993 - Jane Burns, Des Moines Register
1992 - Debbie Becker, USA TODAY
1991 - Mel Greenberg, Philadelphia Inquirer



Questions? Contact Us. 

Quick Links
WBCA Convention


2014 WBCA Convention Logo - Nashville

Held during the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, the WBCA National Convention is the perfect mixture of professional development, networking opportunities and a celebration of our sport. Click here for information on the 2014 convention, which will be held April 4-8 in Nashville.



Our goal is for this site to be the information hub of women's basketball legislation. We will provide members with information directly on our website as well as navigating you to other sites with information you need to know.

National Polls/Rankings


Other Polls/Rankings

Job Postings