Kelly Kline/WBCA

Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I female basketball player who stands 5'8" tall or under and attends a NCAA Division I institution.

Any collegiate senior at a four-year NCAA Division I institution who stands 5'8" tall or under.

• Attends a four-year NCAA Division I institution
• Senior
• 5'8' or under
• Game-by-game statistics from senior year of play
• One letter of recommendation (includes campus and community activities, academic and athletic honors, leadership and character qualities and justification for earning award)
• Excellence in the classroom and all-around basketball ability

All NCAA Division I WBCA member head coaches are eligible to nominate any individual on their team who fits the above criteria. Nomination forms are made available online.


The award recipient is selected by the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Selection Committee, based upon the nomination form, game-by-game statistics from the candidates senior year of play and one letter of recommendation which includes campus and community activities, academic and athletic honors, leadership and character qualities, and justification for earning the award. The selection committee will hold a conference call in February to determine the winner.

View Committee

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award recipient is recognized annually at the WBCA Awards Luncheon at the WBCA National Convention.

Past Pomeroy Naismith Award Recipients
2013 - Alex Bentley, Penn State University
2012 - Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan University
2011 - Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga University
2010 - Alexis Gray-Lawson, University of California, Berkeley
2009 - Renee Montgomery, University of Connecticut
2008 - Jolene Anderson, University of Wisconsin
2007 - Lindsey Harding, Duke University
2006 - Megan Duffy, University of Notre Dame
2005 - Tan White, Mississippi State University
2004 - Erika Valek, Purdue University
2003 - Kara Lawson, University of Tennessee
2002 - Sheila Lambert, Baylor University
2001 - Niele Ivey, University of Notre Dame
2000 - Helen Darling, Penn State University
1999 - Becky Hammond, Colorado State University
1998 - Angie Arnold, Johns Hopkins University
1997 - Jennifer Howard, North Carolina State University
1996 - Jennifer Rizzotti, University of Connecticut
1995 - Amy Dodrill, Johns Hopkins University
1994 - Nicole Levesque, Wake Forest University
1993 - Dena Evans, University of Virginia
1992 - Rosemary Kosiorek, West Virginia University
1991 - Shanya Evans, Providence College
1990 - Julie Dabrowski, University of New Hampshire
1989 - Paulette Backstrom, Bowling Green State University
1988 - Suzie McConnell, Penn State University
1987 - Rhonda Windham, University of Southern California
1986 - Kamie Etheridge, University of Texas
1985 - Maria Stack, Gonzaga University
1984 - Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech University



Questions? Contact Us. 

Quick Links
WBCA Convention


2014 WBCA Convention Logo - Nashville

Held during the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, the WBCA National Convention is the perfect mixture of professional development, networking opportunities and a celebration of our sport. Click here for information on the 2014 convention, which will be held April 4-8 in Nashville.



Our goal is for this site to be the information hub of women's basketball legislation. We will provide members with information directly on our website as well as navigating you to other sites with information you need to know.

National Polls/Rankings


Other Polls/Rankings

Job Postings