Kelly Kline/WBCA

Carol Eckman Award

This award will be given to an active (head or assistant coach) WBCA member coach who best demonstrates the character of the late Carol Eckman, the mother of the collegiate women's basketball national championship. Eckman organized the first women's basketball championship at West Chester State College in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985.

An active WBCA member head or assistant coach at the NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or JC/CC level.

• Sportsmanship
• Commitment to the student-athlete
• Honesty
• Ethical behavior
• Courage

All collegiate WBCA member head and assistant coaches are eligible to nominate any individual who fits the above criteria for the Carol Eckman Award. Nomination forms are made available online. The nomination includes an essay on why the nominee should be considered for the Carol Eckman Award in addition to a list of coaching positions held, any outstanding contributions to the profession off the court and an explanation of what initiative the nominee has taken to promote women's basketball. Carol Eckman selection committee members can nominate their fellow committee members for this award.

The Carol Eckman selection committee holds a conference call during which all nominations are discussed and a recipient is chosen. All Carol Eckman Award nominees, who are not selected as the award recipient, will automatically remain as nominees for five years.

View Committee

The Carol Eckman Award winner is recognized annually at the WBCA Awards Luncheon during the WBCA National Convention.

Past Carol Eckman Award Recipients
2013 - Jan Ross, University of Oklahoma
2012 - Sue Ramsey, Ashland University
2011 - Joanne Boyle, University of California, Berkley
2010 - Kevin Cook, Gallaudet University
2009 - Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame
2008 - Doug Bruno, DePaul University
2007 - Theresa Grentz, University of Illinois
2006 - Gail Goestenkors, Duke University
2005 - Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas
2004 - Deirdre Kane, West Chester University
2003 - Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University
2002 - Barbara Stevens, Bentley College
2001 - Juliene B. Simpson, East Stroudsburg University
2000 - Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University
1999 - Susan Summons, Miami-Dade Community College
1998 - Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi
1997 - Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University
1996 - Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri
1995 - Ceal Barry, University of Colorado
1994 - Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University
1993 - C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa
1992 - Jill Hutchinson, Illinois State University
1991 - Marian Washington, University of Kansas
1990 - Dr. Maryalice Jeremiah, Cal-State Fullerton
1989 - Linda Hill-MacDonald, University of Minnesota
1988 - Kay Yow, North Carolina State University
1987 - Jody Conradt, University of Texas
1986 - Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College



Questions? Contact Us. 

Quick Links
WBCA Convention


2014 WBCA Convention Logo - Nashville

Held during the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, the WBCA National Convention is the perfect mixture of professional development, networking opportunities and a celebration of our sport. Click here for information on the 2014 convention, which will be held April 4-8 in Nashville.



Our goal is for this site to be the information hub of women's basketball legislation. We will provide members with information directly on our website as well as navigating you to other sites with information you need to know.

National Polls/Rankings


Other Polls/Rankings

Job Postings